LOK – THE KUNSTZONE (Art Zone) IN THE LOKREMISE

The Kunstzone in the Lokremise, the second «venue» of the Kunstmuseum, serves as a culture lab for contemporary art. It is part of the Lokremise cultural center, which was opened in 2010 by the Canton of St. Gallen. The immediate proximity to cinema and dance/theater opens fascinating synergies, while the raw character of the interior space enables process-oriented exhibitions along with «Artist-in-Residence» projects. 

The Lokremise St.Gallen (1903–1911) was a pioneering structure in Swiss rail infrastructure. The building, designed by Carl Moser, originally served for the maintenance of the steam locomotives. The building, which forms a unique ensemble together with the bath house (1902) and the water tower (1906) by Robert Maillart, is currently considered an industrial monument of national significance. From 1999 to 2004, the Lokremise was used by the Galerie Hauser & Wirth as an exhibition space for the eponymous collection, and became well known in the national and international art scene. In 2008, the voters in St. Gallen approved the purchase of the Lokremise and its use as a cultural center.

Since 2010, the Kunstmuseum St.Gallen has operated the Kunstzone in der Lokremise, which was opened with the spectacular exhibition, «John M Armelder leuchtet ein.» In addition, the Lokremise’s bath house, which accommodates office and storage spaces, as well as an apartment for artists, was gently renovated. The exterior of the water tower by the concrete pioneer Robert Maillart from 1906, which contains a spatial installation by the Swiss artist Christoph Büchel, was renovated.

Further information can be found at: www.lokremise.ch

Information about our opening hours, admission and directions to the Lokremise can be found here.

LOK – Die Kunstzone der Lokremise

Die Kunstzone in der Lokremise, die zweite «Spielstätte» des Kunstmuseums, dient als Kulturlabor für zeitgenössische Kunst. Sie ist Teil des Kulturzentrums Lokremise, das 2010 vom Kanton St.Gallen eröffnet wurde. Die unmittelbare Nachbarschaft zu Kinok und Tanz/Theater eröffnet faszinierende inhaltliche Synergien während der rohe Charakter des Innenraumes prozessorientierte Ausstellungen sowie «Artist-in-Residence»-Projekte ermöglicht.

Bei der Lokremise St.Gallen (1903–1911) handelt es sich um einen Pionierbau der Schweizerischen Bahninfrastruktur. Das von Carl Moser entworfene Gebäude diente ursprünglich der Wartung von Dampflokomotiven. Der Bau, der zusammen mit dem Badhaus (1902) und dem Wasserturm (1906) von Robert Maillart ein einzigartiges Ensemble bildet, gilt heute als Industriedenkmal von nationaler Bedeutung. Zwischen 1999 bis 2004 wurde die Lokremise von der Galerie Hauser & Wirth als Ausstellungsraum für die gleichnamige Sammlung genutzt und gewann in der nationalen und internationalen Kunstszene einen hohen Bekanntheitsgrad. 2008 stimmten die St.Galler Stimmbürgerinnen und Stimmbürger dem Erwerb der Lokremise und ihrer Nutzung als Kulturzentrum zu. 

Seit 2010 betreibt das Kunstmuseum St.Gallen die Kunstzone in der Lokremise, die mit der spektakulären Ausstellung «John M Armelder leuchtet ein» eröffnet wurde. Zusätzlich wurde auch das Badhaus der Lokremise sanft saniert, das Büro- und Lagerräume sowie eine Künstlerwohnung enthält. Der Wasserturm des Betonpioniers Robert Maillart aus dem Jahr 1906, der eine Rauminstallation des Schweizer Künstlers Christoph Büchel enthält, wurde einer Aussenrenovation unterzogen. 

Weitere Informationen zur Lokremise finden Sie unter: www.lokremise.ch

Informationen zur Anfahrt, den Eintrittspreisen und Öffnungszeiten der Kunstzone finden Sie hier.

Kunst über Mittag in der Kunstzone Lokremise