CAMBIO

New Additions to the Collection

5 December 2020 – 18 April 2021

 

Karin Karinna Bühler’s (*1974, Herisau) sculpture CAMBIO, which was created specifically for the Arte Castasegna exhibition project in 2018 and became the leitmotif of the exhibition, was donated to the Kunstmuseum St. Gallen in 2020 by the Lienhard Foundation. The latest presentation of works from the collection at the Kunstmuseum St. Gallen takes its title from this brilliant work. Made of polished chrome steel, the sculpture literally depicts change as well as the fact that the surroundings, including the viewer, are constantly reflected in it. To return the sculpture from Castasegna, the artist attached it to the roof of a delivery truck and drove back to Trogen. She describes the trip as “an odyssey due to the circumstances—the snowfall in the Alps meant I had to travel through Italy.” CAMBIO thus reflected many new landscapes and became the subject of the photo series CAMBIO ON THE ROAD, which is on view at the end of the exhibition.

The board of trustees of the Kunstmuseum St. Gallen decided not to wait for a thematically or chronologically fitting context to present the new acquisitions and donations, and instead to regularly create an exhibition out of the richness of these works. The donated works thus share a common denominator under the title Cambio, which forms the context in which they will be exhibited for the first time at the museum over the next five months. The rooms on the north side of the ground floor feature works that have been donated to the Kunstmuseum St. Gallen in recent years or that the Kunstverein St. Gallen and Kunstmuseum St. Gallen were able to acquire.

The exhibition begins with abstract formulations that initially seem devoid of all figuration and follows the traces of a painting that then allows for figuration in a basically abstract painting. Dan Christensen (*1942, Lexington, Nebraska; †2007, East Hampton, New York), Henry Codax (active since 2011), Raoul De Keyser (*1930, †2012, Deinze), Olivier Mosset (*1944, Bern), Albert Oehlen (*1954, Krefeld), and Matthias Zinn (*1964, Tegernsee) are cornerstones of this tradition of painting. It culminates in a monumental landscape, two large-scale drawings, and a sculpture by Per Kirkeby (*1938, †2018, Copenhagen), which Heiner E. Schmid donated to the Kunstmuseum St. Gallen. Classical figuration in Hans Josephsohn’s (*1920, Königsberg; †2012, Zurich) sculptures is combined with series of works by Fritz Wotruba (*1907, †1975, Vienna), one of the most important late modernist sculptors, who dissolved the figurative components in favor of geometric abstraction.

Contemporary art responds to these works in a very free-form manner. Works by Mäddel Fuchs (*1951, Zurich), Marisa Fuchs (*1946, Zurich), Bethan Huws (*1961, Bangor, Wales), Urs Lüthi (*1947, Lucerne), Johanna Nissen-Grosser (*1931, St. Gallen), Rita Kappenthuler (*1973, St. Gallen) and Nathan Federer (*1992, Heiden), Roman Signer (*Appenzell 1938), Bernard Tagwerker (*1942, Speicher), and Herbert Weber (*1975, Frauenfeld) follow an enjoyable path with surprising twists in dialogue with the classics.

Curator: Roland Wäspe

CAMBIO

neu in der Sammlung des Kunstmuseums St.Gallen

5. Dezember 2020 - 18. April 2021

 

Die Skulptur CAMBIO von Karin Karinna Bühler (*1974 Herisau), die 2018 speziell für das Ausstellungsprojekt Arte Castasegna entstand und sich zum Leitbild der Ausstellung entwickelte, wurde dem Kunstmuseum St.Gallen 2020 von der Lienhard-Stiftung geschenkt. Dieses glänzende Werk gab der neuesten Sammlungspräsentation des Kunstmuseums St.Gallen den Namen. In poliertem Chromstahl gefertigt, verbildlicht die Skulptur ganz buchstäblich den Wechsel sowie die Tatsache, dass sich Umwelt und mit ihr die Betrachterin und der Betrachter beständig in ihr spiegeln. Für den Rücktransport von Castasegna nach Trogen fixierte die Künstlerin die Skulptur auf dem Dach eines Lieferwagens und fuhr so zurück nach Trogen. Sie beschreibt die Reise als «eine Odyssee, die den Umständen geschuldet ist – der Schneefall in den Alpen gab mir die Reiseroute über Italien vor». CAMBIO spiegelte sich so in vielen neuen Landschaften und wurde zur Fotoserie CAMBIO ON THE ROAD, die schlüssig am Ende der Präsentation CAMBIO zu sehen ist.

Es war Idee und Wunsch des Stiftungsrats des Kunstmuseums St.Gallen, mit der Präsentation der Neuanschaffungen und Schenkungen nicht mehr zuzuwarten, bis diese im thematischen oder chronologischen Zusammenhang der Sammlung ihre schlüssigen Orte finden würden, sondern dass wir aus der Fülle der Geschenke regelmässig eigene Präsentationen gestalten. Die geschenkten Werke haben also den gemeinsamen Nenner und Titel, unter dem sie nun für fünf Monate erstmals ausgestellt sind, gleichsam selbst gefunden. In den Nordräumen des Erdgeschosses sind Werke versammelt, die dem Kunstmuseum St.Gallen in den letzten Jahren geschenkt wurden oder die der Kunstverein und das Kunstmuseum erwerben konnten.

Die Ausstellung beginnt mit abstrakten Formulierungen, die vorerst jede Gegenständlichkeit auszuschliessen scheinen, und folgt den Spuren einer Malerei, die Gegenständliches in einer grundsätzlich abstrakten Malerei dann doch wieder zulässt. Dan Christensen (Lexington, Nebraska 1942–2007 East Hampton, New York), Henry Codax (seit 2011 tätig), Raoul De Keyser (Deinze 1930–2012), Olivier Mosset (*1944 Bern), Albert Oehlen (*1954 Krefeld) und Matthias Zinn (*1964 Tegernsee) sind Eckpunkte dieser Malereitradition. Sie kulminiert in einer monumentalen Landschaft, zwei grossformatigen Zeichnungen und einer Skulptur von Per Kirkeby (Kopenhagen 1938–2018), die Heiner E. Schmid dem Kunstmuseum schenkte. Klassische Figuration in den Skulpturen von Hans Josephsohn (Königsberg 1920–2012 Zürich) verbindet sich mit Werkgruppen von Fritz Wotruba (Wien 1907–1975), einem der bedeutendsten Plastiker der späten Moderne, der die figürlichen Komponenten zugunsten geometrischer Abstraktion zusehends auflöste.

Diesen Werken antwortet zeitgenössische Kunst in sehr freier Form. Werke von Mäddel Fuchs (*1951 Zürich), Marisa Fuchs (*1946 Zürich), Bethan Huws (* 1961 Bangor, Wales), Urs Lüthi (*1947 Luzern), Johanna Nissen-Grosser (*1931 St.Gallen), Rita Kappenthuler (*1973 St.Gallen) / Nathan Federer (*1992 Heiden), Roman Signer (*Appenzell 1938), Bernard Tagwerker (*1942 Speicher) und Herbert Weber (*1975 Frauenfeld) folgen im Dialog mit den Klassikern einem vergnüglichen Parcours mit überraschenden Wendungen.

Kurator: Roland Wäspe

Impressionen